Welcome new Phi Alpha Theta Members! 

On November 9, 2015 Villanova’s History Department welcomed their newest members to the Tau Phi Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta. Both graduate and undergraduate students were recognized for their outstanding attainments and scholarship in the field of history.

A big congratulations to the 2015 prize winners:

Ciara Sprance, awarded with the George T. Radan Prize in Art History for her paper entitled “Byzantine Iconoclasm and the Image Cult of the Virgin Mary: Constructive Desctruction.”

Nelson Rice, awarded The Bohdan P. Procko Prize for best undergraduate student paper in 2015 for his paper entitled, “The Frontier on Fifth Avenue: How Rodio Ben Lichtenstein, Jim Shoulders and Wrangler Jeans Refashioned the American West.”
James Schmitt, awarded The Daniel B. Carroll Prize for best graduate history paper in 2015 for his paper entitled, “The Postwar Wilderness Dilemma: the Relationship between Conservationists and the National Park Service from the Second World War to the Wilderness Act, 1941-1964.”
Patrick Ciapciak, awarded The Richard L. Bates Memorial Award for Outstanding Service to History 2015.
And welcome to the newest inductees:

Graduate Students

Anna Fitzpatrick

Alexander Harding

Sarah Johnson

Chelse Martin

Elizabeth Motich

Christopher Pegg

Melissa Tracy

Undergraduate students

Kathleen Boyce

John Brennan

Laura Campbell

Patrick Ciapciak

Michael Collins

Hollis Ekroth

Joseph Farmer

Joseph Gaude

John Kraus

Ryan Murtha

Erin Mysogland

Brian Polk

Patrick Riley

Kevin Samolsky

Elise VanAradale


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s